h1

Engineer: Epic Fail Is Part Of The Plan

September 28, 2008

In a recent post, somebody asked me if I could share tips and stylish winning strategies for playing an Engineer. I was drinking a carbonated beverage at the time, and I had to stop reading for a second to deal with the blinding pain of Diet Pepsi shooting through my sinuses. This wasn’t because I have an odd fetish for nose bubbles, but because that’s like asking Gargamel how to thwart the Smurf menace.

Anyone who’s played with me knows a couple things about my Engineer: (1) that I am fearless in RvR, and (2) most of that fearless nature comes from lying on my back, dead. If there is a way to die, I’ve found it, and at times my avatar seems to rebel against the wishes of my keyboard and simply fling herself onto the sword of any oncoming Destructoid. But still, if you ask, I’ll share what I’ve learned, and perhaps you’ll do the exact opposite and become the Scotty to my Doc Brown.

The first thing you should do is get over to WHA and read Givianti’s excellent post, “So You Wanna Be A Dwarf Engineer, Do Ya?” Loads of great info, and I’m not just saying this because Giv is the GM of our guild. But it is true that his mere touch will fix any machine and eliminate DRM and make your heart so pure that unicorns frolic in your presence.

If you need any other advice from a guy who’s — just like you — trying to figure out the ropes of this surprisingly complicated class (in terms of how to wield them properly), here’s a few thoughts I jotted down:

  • One of the hard, brutal lessons that an Engineer must first learn is how fragile we are. Flimsy. Delicate. Squishy. Lightweight. With only light armor at our disposal — cool-looking though it may be — our only other reliable form of protection comes from Flak Jacket, an armor-boosting skill that doesn’t scale with gear, has 20 charges and a 2-second cast timer. Although Flak Jacket goes down incredibly fast, it’s imperative to keep recasting it every time you have a small break in the action. Against PvE, I’ve noticed a difference in survivability; in PvP, I have no idea.
  • Barbed Wire is just about the greatest thing in the world. It’s an AOE, instant-cast root that works wonders in tripping up the enemy if following you (or following someone else you’re trying to protect), or if you need to reestablish a bit of range. It does wear off or break pretty quickly, and the 20 second cooldown means that you should save it for an important occasion, like rooting the Pope.
  • Flame Turret — no matter what actual damage our turrets do, I find that enemy players just hate these things. The flame one in particular is annoying, since it does so much AOE damage and graphically lights up the place. Stand on top of one of these, and a melee opponent has to decide if it’s worth closing range on you for the beatdown. Later on, add Lightning Rod (tinkerer path) and Land Mine for close-quarters protection.
  • Blow Up Turrets — I haven’t gotten this ability yet, but it’s one of the most powerful in our arsenal. You can trigger a turret to self-destruct, which causes AOE damage and (best of all) a five-second knock-down. Five seconds is a short eternity in PvP, and you can use it for a quick getaway.
  • Bombardment Turret – I don’t use these as much, although the explodey grenades are somewhat disconcerting to enemies.
  • Gun Turret — The weakest turret overall, the gun turret has a useful place on the battlefield with its armor-reducing debuff and long range. I like putting these in hard-to-spot areas and letting them act as sentries (versus close-quarters defense like the other two turrets).
  • You can also snare people by putting a Hex on them (which comes from various abilities in your skillset) and then Spanner Swiping them. I don’t do this too often, but it’s a viable option.
  • Unless you specialize in the rifle mastery path, don’t expect to be Mr. or Mrs. Sniper, carving off huge chunks of health from waaaaay accross the battlefield. Instead, think of your gun as an excellent opener, to be followed up with a slew of DOTs.
  • You have to discern when’s the time to create a defensible position (with turrets, land mines and barbed wire) and when you should be running and sniping and acting like a guerrilla fighter. I do the former only when I have teammates backing me up.
  • Acid Bomb is da bomb. I love it more than life itself and I keep it up on whole groups of enemies as often as I can.
  • Engineers shine when the attention is focused away from them so we can help support teammates with tricks and dps. Don’t be afraid to run when attention comes your way.

I wish I had more to share, but as I said, I’m still just figuring this all out and fiddling with attack order. It is frustrating not being able to really pump out the ranged dps like I thought, but that might change in future levels. Any current engineers are welcome to leave comments with their own suggestions.

5 comments

  1. The tome raiders guide is good, though a bit outdated.

    I generally like your guide, though I disagree about the strength of the gun turret. The armor debuff is just awesome.


  2. Playing engineer (RM). I have noticed that a well-played engineer can really turn the tide of battle especially in the capture the flag scenarios. We are team players. First, always keep yourself around other people. Second, use Barbed wire often, but don’t waste it. It is best used as a streategic weapon. In the heat of the battle, stop reinforcements with it, stop the enemy flag holder, keep enemy chasers away. Usually this works like a charm. Third, keep casting your turrets and stay on the move if charged at. If chased, first root, then do point-blank, run to friends, or just run away and use instant shots like hip shot. As a riflemaster, I love taking out their support people from behind the lines and rooting their tanks. If we have a good team and don’t end up dying all the time I am usually in top-5 with damage output and assisted kills. Sometimes I manage to top these at least in tier 2. I think AoE turrets help a lot, especially with the assists.


  3. Thank you for the tips. I apologize if I made you snort Pepsi through your nose though. šŸ™‚


  4. Stack DoTs. Moar DoTs! Moar DoTs! Incendiary rounds + Acid Grenade + Frag Grenade, I’ve had squishies take me out, then drop over because the dots got them. Get another dot with the burning potions (they taste like victory!)

    Tossing two or three AoE dots on a cluster of destruction players isn’t going to take them out, but you will be softening them up for the rest of your team. Burning through your remaining action points peppering the DoT’d cluster of targets with shotgun blasts is satisfying too.

    Hitting them with your spanner is all you need to snare them, I’m pretty sure. But then again, if I’m hitting something with a spanner, its already got Acid Grenade on it.

    Turrets, I mostly avoid the flamer, the range just isn’t what I need. Other engineers swear by them, I mostly swear at them. If I’m on guard, I will probably use the Bombadier turret, its loud and draws attention to the witch elf that just came out of stealth and is trying to steal the flag. Its intimidating due to the noise and ranged AoE, so it draws fire. The Gun turret? Ya, I set that off to the side, hidden if possible, and let it quietly snipe. The armor debuff is just too nice, and stacks well with other classes armor debuffs.

    You can do a lot of single target damage, I’ve gone one on one with sorceresses of my level and won – without a turret. Hip-shot, Incendiary Rounds, Acid Grenade, Rifle Blast Rifle Blast Rifle Blast (healing potion) Rifle Blast. But unless they aren’t very good, just say no to melee combat, no matter how cute that witch elf is. The problem is, you need to learn to run away _early_ if melee starts heading toward you, you can’t count on Flee. Too many people have ranged snares. At 18th everyone gets a ‘Get out of Snare/Root free’ card, some of which also give temporary immunity to snares and roots. Learn to spanner swipe for the snare, dance around for ten (way too long) seconds and then run away while dropping Barbed Wire. Spanner Swipe + Point Blank makes the witch elves burn that immunity, giving you a chance to survive to flee.

    Always Spanner Swipe before using Point Blank, just like an Ironbreaker should always Binding Grudge before doing Away with Ye. Oh, and yell ‘Pull!’ then shoot them as they fly away.

    You aren’t Rambo. You aren’t a .50 caliber sniper. You are a squishy support class that can do annoying amounts of utility work. Learn to treasure that, being a pain in the butt to half the enemy team at the same time will give you the warm and fuzzies.

    As you lay there dead with their boot tracks on your corpse.


  5. […] have I learned so far? Well, in addition to tips on playing an alternate Warhammer Online class that I like, I’ve also learned about tome tactic unlocks, read a bunch of funny game-related […]



Leave a comment