h1

The Face of a Gold Spammer

October 27, 2008

I’ve noticed, upon starting alts in the newbie zones, that sometimes you find a guy at the new player spawn point who’s doing something like this:

Obviously, it’s not a roleplayer who’s just really into numbers, but some sort of scripted / macro / bot program running. I thought, briefly, that it might be a Mythic employee who’s paid to stand there and count out loud all the new players who were created that day. But that’s crazy talk. I know. Crazy.

Nah, it’s Mr. Gold Spammer himself, as evidenced by his next action:

Aww. I can’t hit /rg fast enough. But since they’re a dying breed, it’s sort of special to encounter one in the wild like this. Why doesn’t Warhammer have a /slapyouupsidethehead command again?

13 comments

  1. So far, warhammer online hasn’t had any use for gold… but when guilds hit lvl 14 and see the WHOPPING bill for claiming and holding a keep for even a day, they may resort to gold spammers unfortunately. Kind of silly to spend money on E-Gold (yes I just made up a new word, yay me!) just to hold a keep for an additional 24 hours but hey, some people have less of a life than WoW players I guess 😉


  2. Lol, I love how just after you received the /tell, you left your rested state. Seems the gold spam negatively affected your character as well 🙂


  3. I highly recommend the Spam Me Not mod. It has blocked 100% of the spam tells I have gotten. Instead of getting an annoying spam message, you just get a “Thanks for submitting a CSR request!” as the mod autoreports the spammer.


  4. Death to gold spammers! They are a dying breed, even in WoW.


  5. I’ve been wondering what the hell those people standing spouting #’s were doing. I tried ti imitate then to see what woudl happen and nothing worked.


  6. I wonder what the counting thing is all about.


  7. Ha, I saw spammer right in the starting spawn point when I started an alt about 10 days ago. Soon after I got the gold /tell from the little bastard (I was making a dwarf…). I really did want to violently attack him.


  8. I spent about 5 minutes standing next to one of these fellas while talking to a CSR about him. Needless to say, we both thought he was being very silly.


  9. So that’s what those numbers were. I just bought my copy of WAR this weekend and the second I logged in, I saw this dude just saying numbers.

    At first I thought it was an NPC but it was a real dude. I assume the counting is the number of /tells it made.


  10. The spam me not mod works great its also on my site if your interested. (iam not sure if this is considered spam)http://warhammeronlineleveling.blogspot.com/2008/10/spam-me-not-new-war-mod.html


  11. Actually, with the only use for gold we’ve seen so far being the extreme cost of keeps, most members of my guild have taken to tithing 50% or more of their income on their own. And considering the rate at which money comes in while questing just past lv20, I wouldn’t be surprised to see a larger increase once approaching the late 30s.

    That’s pretty funny that they have output to /s; it’s like “Hey look! I’m a gold spammer revving my engine!” I wonder what the intended purpose was? Probably antiquated debug code that they didn’t pull out before bestowing it upon “click the button and make a buck” spammers.


  12. well seems they should have a new tool to ban spammas..

    or at least a new way to auto identify them .. nice find


  13. […] Then I found out he was just a gold selling bot. […]



Leave a Reply

