h1

Witching Night Incoming!

October 21, 2008

I make no bones (heh) that Halloween is my favorite holiday of the year.  I just love, love, love it.  Scary movies, haunted houses, costumes, candy, autumn weather and communal celebration.  By association, Halloween-y holidays in MMOs are among my most anticipated — whatever they call it, it’s an in-game holiday where decorations abound, non-threatening horror elements rampage, and players get to act like, y’know, children looking for candy.  Virtual candy.

So it thrills me that we’ve just gotten word that the first Warhammer Online holiday event is in the making — Witching Night.  Dev Mark Davis gave us a sneak peek on the Herald:

One of the many things I do is working out a plan for our live events. Just recently we all had time to look up from our computer screens to realize that Halloween was right around the corner and we’d like to provide some fun stuff to celebrate the occasion!  So, you know what would be cool?  How about a sneak peak at what we’re prepping for the Halloween season – known as “Witching Night” in the Warhammer universe when the divisions between the living and the dead grow thin, and the power of Shyish, the Purple Wind of Magic, waxes. Evil cults, witches, and necromancers use this time to their advantage, easily raising the dead and calling upon them to spread wickedness across the land.

I love those moments in Public Quests when, on the final stage, the enormous boss monster stomps into the area and the final, epic conclusion begins to draw near.  What will that boss do?  Will he cast a nasty DOT?  Perhaps he’ll throw us all back into the aggressive monsters waiting along the fringes?  It’s a great adrenalin rush!  Also equally, if not more so, are those moments in RvR when you’re attacking the keep doors while the enemy pours down boiling oil, siege weapons are firing on both sides, and any moment you’ll storm into the Keep where the final outcome will be decided!  You know what would be cool?   What if we combine the two?  In the skirmish areas around the entire world during the Halloween holiday, there will be boss monsters lurking for players to kill.  They’ll have cool loot on them, of course, so players from both sides will want to take them down.  I’m sure Order and Destruction will play nicely with each other and share equally with each other for the spoils of the fight – yeah right!  What else would you expect from a Warhammer holiday?  Trick-or-treating?  Nah!  Beating people over the head?  Oh yeah!

In addition to the awesome conflict happening out in the RvR areas, we’ve got some unique encounters cooked up for anyone wanting to do some PvE Monster slaying.  I don’t want to spoil all of the amazing stuff we’ve got planned, but rest assured that it’ll be “cool,” rewarding, and very Warhammer.

Now my manliness is unquestioned and unparalleled, but this announcement might — might — have prompted me to go “EEEEE!” while I shook my hands in an epileptic fashion.  So to sum up: zombie night, open world RvR boss battles, cool loot, PvE monster slaying.  Really, is there a better game world to be suited to the theme of Halloween than Warhammer?

As a bonus feature for Witching Hour, if you manage to catch me online on the Phoenix Throne server on the week of Halloween and send me a “trick or treat!” tell, well, I’ll be happy to oblige!

6 comments

  1. iam really glad that Warhammer is engaging in the holidays. that was one part i was going to miss from WoW i still have some “wands” in my bags back on old Nagrand…I thought this was one of the “fluff” that Mythic was going to do without.
    YAY!!


  2. I’m on destro side, Phoenix Throne, I’ve killed you a few times in Scenarios. Can I, too, get candy?


  3. how about, i forgot my free month was up and forgot to buy more time? 🙂 i’m signing back up on friday!


  4. BRING BACK FLUFF!!!!

    No really i love all the useless trinkets and pets and all sorts of things, i’m glad we see holidays already implemented i just hope we can see more fluff added in the near future


  5. Loving the sound the of the PvE monsters, that should make for some really interesting battles! All sounds really good and possibly a little more hard edged than WoW holidays (although enjoyed those too, before accused of WoW bashing).


  6. Sounds good, but I am with Clo, I thought I read somewhere from Jacobs that holiday weekends, etc, were not in tune with WAR.



Leave a Reply

