h1

Syp’s State of the State of the Game

October 17, 2008

Go over to the Herald and read Mark Jacobs’ first State of the Game address!

Huge news here:

  • Mythic is going to be reinstalling the two cut tank classes by December: the Black Guard and the Knight of the Blazing Sun (so much for my “other knightly orders” theory!). GREAT news, especially for Order players who need tanks like turtles need turtle wax. I’ll look forward to test driving a KotBS as soon as that happens.
  • Not to nitpick his follow-up to this announcement, but “We’ve kept to that plan and with the introduction of these two classes, Mythic shows that once again we are happy to keep giving players more value for their subscription dollars than any other MMORPG developer.” I know this is a major content addition, but most players won’t see it as an “addition” so much as putting back in that which was cut out. It’s a little like a mom giving a kid a sack lunch, but at the last second taking the Twinkie out of there, then later on giving the Twinkie back and saying how awesome she is for doing so.
  • More promised fixes and tweaks to stability, CTDs and graphical performance. Good, necessary, nothing new tho.
  • The mail system is going to get some major work done on it, although “in all fairness to the team, the system’s problems have been magnified by the demand of having so many servers and players using it at the same time.” That’s pretty funny. “Your car wouldn’t break if you wouldn’t drive it so much!”
  • Better RvR rewards and itemization. What is particularly noteworthy: “implementing an RvR-influence system to compliment the current PvE-influence system.” That’s just what I was thinking, and it will definitely help get people more excited about engaging in RvR that has long-term rewards as well as short-term.
  • “Other changes for 1.1 include major additions to the chat system (item linking and more) as well as continued work on our targeting system, including adding Main Assist and Target of Target.” All very applause-worthy moves, especially the item linking. Now, more brags than ever!
  • “In addition to the server balancing methods that have worked so well over the last week, we will also be offering the first server transfers to our players to continue to help even out the server populations.” I’m always a bit wary about server transfers, because servers can be “punished” by an exodus of players in this fashion, but this is a much-needed step to help balance population out, I suppose.
  • “While that might seem like a lot for a month, we’re not done yet! We’ll also be adding more exciting content to the game, including fourteen entirely new quest chains, two new Lairs, and many more Tome of Knowledge unlocks!” Yay. I’d really like to see more high-level Tome unlocks and many, many more RvR Tome unlocks.
  • “Almost every career is going to see some changes and love coming their way and there are very, very few changes that will be seen as reductions to a career’s abilities. …I won’t go into details here but the vast majority of careers all have nothing but love coming their way.” YES. Perhaps the best thing in this letter, except for the tanks being added. I’m a big proponent that classes should be buffed to balanced, not nerfed, and I look forward to seeing my Engineer becoming a viable threat.
  • “We have a lot more big surprises coming your way that I will address in my next State of the Game message and it’s going to be a doozie.” Oh, Mark, you tease…

All in all, it’s a very positive letter and I’m sure it’s going to be well-received (especially for da tanks). The timing of this statement is pretty obvious: the free month is up tomorrow and Blizzard is hyping Wrath like nobody’s business (well, their business, I suppose). It’s good to know that the team isn’t resting on their laurels — a most uncomfortable place to rest — but we’ve got a lot to look forward to.

22 comments

  1. Ahh…good… I am looking forward to the Empire Tank. For some reason I have always gravitated towards the human players…even in my early MUDing days when there were no graphical representations…*shrug* Anyway, it’ll be a nice improvement 🙂

    Oh, and keep up the entertaining blog! You have quite the way with words Syp.


  2. Super news! Now I just have to figure out if I put my Rank 11 Swordmaster on hold for the KoTBS, which was the tank class I originally intended on rolling. Hmmm, I usually don’t have 2 alts of the same class, but I may try it. I always have loathed elves in fantasy games, but I’ve grown attached to my purdy, snooty High Elf. She is bad ass. Mythic did a good job making elves much more WAR-like and not the boring, mystic, pseudo-hippies they are in other lore. And it’ll be hard to resist rolling a character who looks like a conquistador on acid…


  3. Yeah I agree with the “content for free” thing. If anything, we really ARE paying for the tanks and other future classes to be placed back in because now Mythic is drawing a check while they develop this stuff. Just because its not in an expansion doesnt mean were not paying for it. Thats like saying water from the tap is free.

    Check my blog for all my thoughts on the address.


  4. RvR Influence Rewards! RvR Influence Bars! RvR Incentives!

    /collapseinjoy


  5. The timing is also important because of all the rumors of subs going down.


  6. No tanks, give me back my Choppa! cause 2 choppa’s iz betta den dem black orcs wiv only 1 choppa!


  7. They really do need a lot more RvR tome unlocks. I really like “The Mauler” title you get for 100 RvR kills(typically in T1 if you do any RvR), but my character is now well over 5000 RvR kills and I still haven’t gotten another RvR unlock/title since that one (now Rank 27/rr 27). This irked me when I played the PW and Open beta and I assumed they had some but were saving them for release, guess not. 😛


  8. Just started playing two days ago.

    Great blog good, good voice, nice spelling!

    Started a blog “Squigs in da Blanket” please add to blogroll if you find it worthy tyvm


  9. Wonder if we’ll get additional character slots as all mine are full.. one of each class that is.. so adding 2 more means delete and or a need for 2 more character slots.


  10. The timing is also important because of all the rumors of subs going down.
    How can subs have gone down? Everyone is on a free month. Next week? Believable, as the free month will be up. So yes, this is the time to make promises.


  11. “Not to nitpick his follow-up to this announcement, but “We’ve kept to that plan and with the introduction of these two classes, Mythic shows that once again we are happy to keep giving players more value for their subscription dollars than any other MMORPG developer.” I know this is a major content addition, but most players won’t see it as an “addition” so much as putting back in that which was cut out. It’s a little like a mom giving a kid a sack lunch, but at the last second taking the Twinkie out of there, then later on giving the Twinkie back and saying how awesome she is for doing so”

    Haft to disagree on this. If WAR released with these classes then they were pulled out week AFTER launch (like due to bugs, etc) then I’d agree. This is more like mom telling you no Twinkies in your lunch for the next few months due to the economy. Then month later gets a bonus at work she bring home a box.


  12. I can’t wait to kill some knights in purty hats..

    Hmm maybe I should roll a blackguard too, I would have to change my blog name though from “Way of the Chosen” to “Way of the Alt” LOL!


  13. I just activated my 60 day time card last night, and I plan on buying another one in a week to get me through the winter.

    Im subbed!

    (do they count an active time card as a sub? I assume so)


  14. I personally found that there are loads of Order tanks, on my server anyway and in a poll i saw the other day IBs were one of the highest played (coz they are OP i spose) classes.. oh well the new additions are still awesome 🙂


  15. Good news all around!

    Lots of my friends are excited about the Knights. Me? I say “What do manlings know about tanking? Pah!”

    Just one thing missing:

    Needs more Hammerer.


  16. How can subs have gone down? Everyone is on a free month. Next week? Believable, as the free month will be up. So yes, this is the time to make promises.

    Not really subs, I used the wrong term, but player activity. People still have the free month but they aren’t playing. You can read about that from Heartless gamer.

    I don’t see anything that will keep the people that wanted to leave the game in this announcement. For me, it only confirms the fact that the game was released 3-4 months before it was finished. Most of what we see in this patch are things that should have been in the game from launch.

    What I really like about Mythic is the small fixes they’ve been giving us every week. It shows that they work hard for this game and that for me means a lot more than patch 1.1.

    They will have to work really hard with Wotlk and Mines of Moria coming next month.


  17. Man, to me this game was as close to finished as I would ever expect a game to be. I was in the launch for AC, EQ, DAOC, MxO, AO, AoC, WoW, VG, EQ2 and PoTBS and none of them launched as good as WAR, not a one. Then to see these kind of changes coming out in the short-term is nothing short of amazing.


  18. WAR is going to lose a lot of subs. That was just a given. On the other hand, it’s already sold 750000 subs; so yeah. Not too shabby.


  19. Syp your job if you choose to accept it….wellll who I am kidding either way it’s now your job 😉
    Find out if we get an extra character slot for the new class on each side. And yes we only need 1 per server since there is only one class per side added in. I reallly don’t wanna delete anyone it will make me a sad puppy and probably even make baby jesus cry.


  20. My take on the comment about how the new classes will be free is that if you keep up with forums, there have been a good number of jaded gamer insisting that there was no way that Mythic would give us the cut classes back when they could see a profit by charging us for it. Jacobs just wanted to make it clear that they’re no … ok, I was going to say “They’re not Blizzard” but “They’re not that greedy” would cause less controversy 😛

    Oddly, a month ago I was playing LoTRO and loving it. Now, no way am I buying MoM over continueing with WAR. I haven’t even touched the beta in a month.


  21. I think people need to look at the possibilities this game has to offer in contrast to WoW.

    Lets face it, WoW will never be known for PvP. Well, at least large scale PvP. They are known for making elaborate instances for raids.

    After participating in a 10 hour raid, I just feel unsatisfied. Even if I do win the best loot. When do I use it? In my next epic raid…

    Also, people complain that it takes a long time to level in Warhammer. Why is that a bad thing? I switched to WoW from DAoC and was like “Holy Crap! I blazing through these levels!” But after hitting 60… Personally I feel more of a reward really working on a level then being able to blast through it in less then an hour.


  22. […] way too late to comment on Mark Jacob’s State of the Game post for Warhammer Online.  Others have already done an excellent job breaking his remarks […]



Leave a Reply

