h1

Patch 1.0.3 — You Can’t Stop The Signal

October 15, 2008

Almost catching me off guard — dang that’s quick — Mythic rolled out 1.0.3 this morning. I appreciate these smaller patches coming pretty regularly. They’re a little more than the hotfixes and a lot less than full-fledged content patches, but they show that the company is working hard to listen to the community and get in some features and fixes we simply can’t wait for. A few notes on their notes:

We’re pleased to announce the addition of a new regional chat system. This item has been one of our most requested features…

YIPPIE-KY-YAY-NERFHERDER! Finally we can be a game where people, y’know, socialize and talk and stuff! And also share our deep, intricate knowledge of politics! And clever retorts as to another gamer’s intelligence! Oh, wait…

Anyway, this is a pretty decent solution to the chat silence. It’ll allow people to converse over a “region area”, the two (or more in T4) zones that comprise a tier in a certain pairing. Lot better than single-zone chat, not as expansive as tier-wide chat or faction-wide chat.

A “new mail” icon has been added to the edge of the minimap to alert players when new mail messages have arrived.

Nice. Good. But where’s the “Let Syp blow up the mailbox” feature that’s been in demand by 100% of me?

In order to provide a more challenging and rewarding experience, we have adjusted the overall speed at which players can gain control of zones and move the campaign.

I guess this is good. I have to say that the whole “zone capture” thing is still zooming over the heads of most players. It’s not as if players work hard to control a T1 zone, just that if it happens, it happens. People don’t know what they get for controlling a zone, most times, and if there’s not a concrete reward dangled in front of their faces, they just aren’t going to work for it or care about it. Perhaps this is in reference to the T4 zone control and the push-and-pull struggle therein.

The war against the gold sellers continues! We have introduced a new “report gold seller” command that works as follows: when you type /rg, the game will automatically fill out a gold seller appeal using the name of the last player who sent you a tell. If you get an unwanted /tell from a pesky gold seller, type /rg to start an appeal and get them busted!

*Applause* As I said earlier, I’m not seeing a lot of gold spam these days, but that’s a lot easier than filling out that unwieldy form that they previously wanted you to do. Now if we can move on to the option where typing /rg will result in an angry badger being dropped on their heads by Mythic’s Elite Black Helicopter Squadron.

We have added a new option to the user settings that will allow players to enable or disable shader caching. This is a graphical performance option, and for a full explanation, players can hover their mouse over this option in the user settings window. This should help improve performance on many systems.

Better performance is good. Still waiting on memory leaks and huge lag during keep sieges, however.

Pet behavior has been improved and should act more naturally when changing between passive and defensive modes while the pet is fighting multiple enemies.

Any pet improvements will be well-received by Squig Herders and White Lions, most definitely.

In order to ensure that the Apothecary skill remains a valuable crafting profession potions will no longer drop as frequently.

BOO! BOO! And no, I’m not saying “BOO-URNS”. Dude, I don’t get enough dropped pots as it is. Now you’re going to take away what little potion love I get and make me beg from those evil Apothecarians?

Seeds for Cultivation will no longer drop as frequently throughout the world.

Generally a “yay” move, since I’m sick of bags full of seeds I don’t use. And it sucks getting excited that there’s a green drop and then… oh, it’s a SEED.

We fixed an issue that would sometimes cause monsters to break off in mid-combat and attempt to walk away.

Aw, I liked the “apathetic” bug. Mobs need to be appreciated more often.

Reduced the interaction time required to deploy a guild standard. Reduced the interaction time required for players to pick up standards that they own.

I’m sure that’ll be well-received. Took ages before.

Renown gained from healing players was granting more renown than intended over long periods of time. Players who heal other players will still earn renown for aiding their friends in combat, but large heals or repeated heal-over-time spells will result in lesser renown gains than before.

While I’m sure no healer will go “yippee!” over this, it’s a valid fix. On the other hand, will this make healers want to heal less?

8 comments

  1. While I’m sure some apothecaries will be evil and selfish, I know that I get enough mats that I’m too lazy to make potions unless someone asks – I probably have enough leeches to make 100 health potions… I’ll give ’em out like candy. 😛


  2. Ahh…I had wondered about the renown gains. As a War Priest in scenarios, laying down some HoT’s would just roll in the Renown Points. I had wondered if that was a bug. Going to miss that extra RP though.


  3. Dissapointed about less potion drops (I must average once in a blue moon anyway) but pleased that I no longer have to lug about hordes of seeds like some mad gardner.

    The most interesting ‘fix’ personally will be to see how the new regional chat pans out. It would be nice to feel like other human beings are actually playing alongside me.

    Last but not least, thank Sigmar for a new mail indicator. If only they could now speed up the process of actually opening mail it might be slighlty less tedious than mowing the lawn with a pair of safety scissors.


  4. Damn! Now I have to hurry up and teach a Dwarf called Lugnar how to brew something other than ale! 🙂

    Starayo is right – need to dump Potions on everyone in my guild instead of sitting around and getting rid of them for a pittance. A good potion in RvR can make all the difference.


  5. I DO think its odd that they lowered the amount of cultivating drops (YAY!) AAAAND reduced the number of potion drops. I guess it COULD work to make people use Apothecary more.

    only problem is…

    “The city is under siege, everyone come quick!!!”

    “I’m on my way, I just need to buy a couple pots from the AH real quick…..and wait A HALF HOUR FOR THEM TO BE RELEASED FROM THE MAILBOX!!!”

    …and then Altdorf falls again.


  6. 1. Fix turrets (both sides) working through walls/doors.
    2. Fix AOEs working through walls/doors

    Those are my only two complaints.

    As for potions, I’m always willing to make potions for guildies. I just need materials for the applicable level range. It gets more difficult at the higher levels because you need harvest liquids to stabilize the brew. I also don’t have a lot of time for farming low level stuff. 😦

    (Generally, I’m running around with 40-80 potions in my level range on me and maybe half that for the next tier in the bank :$)


  7. I wish they’d fix the inflated xp for soloing in scenarios at the same time they fix the renown.. it’ll be interesting to see how it pans out since it comes to Europe today (but I’m not playing till tomorrow due to late night work, woo!), if it’s really bad.. I wonder if healers will give scenarios more of a wide berth


  8. I was wondering if there was someplace to download the warhammer patches other then the downloader that comes with the game? Like you can from fileplanet with WoW patches. Thanks.



Leave a Reply

