h1

1.0.2 – You Guys Had To Patch This On My Day Off?

October 9, 2008

[First of all, a friendly PSA to check out WAAAGH!’s WAR Timeline page, which is being constantly updated.]

Since I’m not going to get any leveling done on my first day off this week (glare, glare) — or at least this morning — I thought I might as well run down the 1.0.2 update and see what there is to see:

Gold Spammer Code Thingee – They’ve added new code that presumably yanks out all body hair from any gold spammer who tries to advertise in game, or something. We’re not sure what this code does. Yay vague code!

“Join All” Scenario Button – This had been an addon that a lot of people liked, so it’s good to see Mythic recognizing the demand for it and throwing it in.

Low Population Incentive – +20% XP and renown? Where do I sign up? It’s a “temporary” incentive on certain servers/factions which should appear quite tempting to players. That’s a beefy bonus, for sure. Questions: how long does the bonus last (like, until the realm stops being underpopulated, or only for a set amount of time after you roll there)? Will we hear a lot of bellyaching from the other faction on that server?

AFK Attack – These two solutions seem reasonable to stop AFKers, although I wasn’t seeing a lot of them in the first place. Scenarios are too fun to AFK in!

Bigger Bolster Buff for Open RvR/Siege Weapon Fixes – Stuff that doesn’t really affect me, so *shrug*.

Chat Fixes – They’ve got a ways to go with chat, but taking the NPC chatter to a new tab is a good start, as is the other small changes.

Scenario Looting “Need” Only On Stuff You Can Use – Good. Like it.

Guilds Can Form Alliances With More Than Two Guilds – So who’s creating the Rebel Alliance?

Shorter Mail Delay To You or Guildies – The mail system right now is borderline unusable due to the extreme long lag in doing anything with it, so I don’t see what a 5 second vs. 1 second lag is going to do when it takes me 30 seconds just to open a piece of mail.

All in all, good stuff, especially the Join All button and the realm underpopulation incentive bonus.

15 comments

  1. very nice stuff indeed

    keep upo the good work syp thanks 4 giving me something 2 read while i sit at work an pick my nose … sry 4 my bad english
    greetings from germany šŸ˜€


  2. You are not alone, my friend. I’m off today too.
    Of course, since the game isn’t up I’m reading your blog, so it’s not all bad news right?


  3. I feel your pain! I’m off work today too and was happily logging in when I saw the 1.02 news…of course I’m glad it’s being patched, but they could have done this while I as at work yesterday! šŸ™‚


  4. Yes thank you for keeping me from picking my nose at work as your posts are always informative and funny.


  5. Personally I would like to see Needs have preference for players that can actually use an item both inside and outside of scenarios. With open grouping being so easy I feel that it leads to more abuse of the “Need” option, as many people need items to sell them, alt them, or put in a guild bank.

    As far as AFK in scenarios. I saw it for the first time last night, where about six players sat on the spawn pad for the scenario. Consequently our side did not do to well. Personally, I think that 2 minutes of inactivity it too long, but will reserve my judgement until post-patch.


  6. Nice post! Saw this last night too and posted my thoughts on a couple of the items as well as Mark Jacob’s earlier remarks on improvements.

    Figured it wasn’t coming until next week, but surprise, surprise they’re updating now.

    I don’t know about the bonuses. Whether it can persuade players I guess will really depend how long the bonuses apply. I wouldn’t want to be the guy who switches over only to find they balanced the next day and the bonuses are gone. šŸ™‚

    Interestingly, when I mistakenly tried to log in this morning only one server, Bechafen, was listed with the bonus (Order side of course). I also saw a new “wouldn’t you like to get a bonus and roll a character on Bechafen” dialog box. Hope that doesn’t become a standard too — I wait and click through enough stuff already to get to my existing characters. (Grumble, grumble…)

    But it’s still nice to see the Mythic team busy as beavers working on improving the game. They may not be hitting all the stuff I care a lot about yet, but at least they’re making progress and they certainly have a big incentive to do a good job.


  7. In a sense of parity, the EU version is patching on my day off tomorrow!


  8. Yeah my friend Dagonet is at home too, getting nailed with the servers being down ha ha.


  9. You don’t get AFKers in scenarios much? Oh we envy you on Darklands Oceanic, Order-side.

    Two guilds are now well-known for farming XP and AFKing on our server. One of them, the Korean Netcafe Mafia, even has the gall to post ‘tips’ on forums on making easy XP from just AFKing instead of, you know, helping their teams win?

    This patch is much needed, really.


  10. “You are a part of the Rebel Alliance and a traitor. “


  11. So how do you find out via the Herald which servers get the 20% bonus?


  12. WTB better patch notes (like an actual list :P)


  13. Positive changes. I’m all for extending the Need Only If You Can (Eventually if need be) Use at anytime. As for the AFKing… I thought you actually had to contribute to earn anything.


  14. I been seeing and reporting AFK players in Scenario’s all along, and I’m on a rather high population server, Badlands. It’s also one of the servers where Order dominates, so every time I hear whiners complain about Order being short-handed, I just want to scream at them, because Order is so OP’d in this game, especially the Dwarfs.

    Mail system fix would be nice to see, as would a cloak fix. Those are still missing and needed.

    Obviously with the servers down again, which makes it down for most of today, things didn’t go as planned.


  15. I’ve been seeing tons of AFK players in Scenarios. There are the ones that come in AFK and there are the ones that go AFK when our side is losing. Both suck.



Leave a Reply

