h1

1.01 — The New 1

October 1, 2008

With the advent of “Game Update 1.01” (devs do love their decimal places, yessirree), there’s been a few answers to gamers’ prayers.  My faves?  Autoloot (man I hate those loot screens), better tab-targeting (previously tab-targeting seemed to locate enemies in other zip codes), and a host of UI improvements including the chat window — which I seem to have screwed up completely when I fiddled with it yesterday.  Nothing super-major, but all good improvements and steps forward.

One of our guildies, Grandpamax (quote: “You just got beat up by a grandpa!”), let me know that NVidia just released a new set of drivers on 9/25, and apparently they seem to help quite a bit with WAR — at least for him.  I’m going to install them tonight and test them out tomorrow, and let you know.

12 comments

  1. A good set of fixes in general, its nice to see some of these issues addressed.
    The WL Pounce-nerf bothers me though… Using a pouncing WL was the only way for Order to get to the stone in Tor Anroc first (and I only ever saw that in every 15th game or so).
    Its alright to change the style’s behavior, since it was slightly buggy, but at the same time the now even more flawed BG has to be taken into account in my opinion.
    It takes Destruction about 5 seconds less to get to the center, so from now on Order will always start with a sizable disadvantage, since getting the stone first then camping at your spawn is pretty much a default win.
    I just can’t get my head around the fact that a bug like that made it through beta, you can even clearly see the difference in distance on the overview map.
    I was hoping they’d fix the map at the same time as addressing the pounce issue, but that does not appear to be the case.
    I realize its not an easy task to remodel the map, but how hard can it be to make the stone spawn after 60 seconds?


  2. “The delay between sending multiple mails has been reduced from 20 seconds to 5 seconds.”

    awesome!


  3. OOOOOHHH I hope those new drivers fix my problem.

    Since day 1 I can’t run in SLI or else my framerate drops by like 10. I know I’m not the only one to, I have found a couple forums postings about this issue.

    You just made me consider skipping out of work early hehe


  4. I was having some lagging — more than even in beta. I made two changes, one was to stop playing in windowed mode and the other was to update my drivers to the 9/25 version. They definitely made the difference.


  5. I installed the new NVidia drivers last night and saw a drastic improvement in the games performance. I was able to turn up the in game graphics settings to balanced from fastest framerate and still have much less stuttering than before. Definately happy that I don’t actually have to go and buy a new video card to play the game smoothly 🙂


  6. For those of us at work, could I beg someone to paste the list of fixes/updates from that site? 😛


  7. Oooo, new video card drivers. Thanks for the update on that news. Going to go grab and install those.

    Now the big test, see how many addon’s are broken by this new patch. 🙂 Luckily I haven’t reached my WoW numbers of 75 addon’s. Hopefully I never need to.


  8. Thanks for the tip on the new drivers, giving those a whirl now and hoping they solve the low-rez character texture problems I’ve been occasionally experiencing.


  9. @ Trojan,

    Changing from “balanced” to “fastest framerate” is actually turning down your graphics settings. Fastest Framerate = just that.

    Turning off settings so that you have there is less for your computer to keep track of. “Highest Quality” (or something like that is actually demanding the most of your graphics card.


  10. Good news, Bad news…

    The drivers helped my single carp performance by like 5-10 fps…..but I still cant run in SLI….it runs like JUNK in SLI.


  11. I finally got rid of my CTD’s. I’m not touching my drivers again!


  12. @AW

    ‘I was able to turn up the in game graphics settings to balanced from fastest framerate’

    Prior to installing the new drivers I had been using the ‘Fastest Framerate’ settings, after installing them I was able to turn my graphics settings up to ‘Balanced’ and still see an overall increase in performance when compared the old drivers. Making my game not only run better but look better now as well 😉

    Maybe my original wording wasn’t quite clear but thats the point I was trying to get across.



Leave a Reply

