h1

The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul is Over

September 5, 2008

In other words… welcome to Preview Weekend+/Open Beta!

It’s indeed nice to know that, barring any serious problems or unknown downtime, Warhammer Online will be playable from now through launch. A lot of Europeans are miffed that they weren’t invited into the Preview Weekend+, which definitely stinks — the EU population is starting to clamor that they’re feeling like the “second-class citizens” of the WAR community, and whether or not they’re being treated as such, it’s hard to erase that perception.

I have no great plans for OB, per se. I imagine that if the Preview Weekend was bad, in terms of numbers and lag and whatnot, Open Beta is going to take me by the throat and lift me up a wall, Darth Vader-style: “WHERE are the plans to our secret planet-blowing-up moon-thingie?” I imagine I will dip my toes into that crowded swimming pool (too late to make summer references?), but the knowledge that the actual Head Start is just a week or so away takes some of the urgency out of doing that.

What are your plans for OB? Any great feats you wish to accomplish?

13 comments

  1. Try out classes. Want to give the Zealot a longer run. But mostly will be trying out Order to see their zones.


  2. I’m going to use my extra 2 days of non-preview time wisely to play Spore πŸ˜‰

    Have fun with the beta! See if they fixed the pathing for us πŸ™‚


  3. Well i couldnt care less about pw+ and i dont even care that much about ob, im most likely just gonna go play every class for an hour or so and thats it.
    but the thing that does worry me is that the acount management page is still not online 2 days before ob start. And all we keep hearing is they are on schedule.


  4. Playing the game finally? Really I’m an EU player – > no preview weekend no CB and finally like an angel from the sky I got a OB key from fileplay! Now I’m gonna test this game for well … the first time πŸ™‚ And see all the stuff I want to see πŸ˜› So yeah I got really much to do πŸ˜› And there is Spore… well so much games so little time…

    Oh right I have exams also. But luckily it’s only Math πŸ™‚


  5. As for me, I will be trying some things out, I think level 20 is the maximum, and I’m going to try to hit that so I can take a look at some Chosen Abilities. I also want to examine 2hand vs sword and board in PvE, and RvR. Also Aura Twisting.


  6. I played a lot of the classes that really appeal to me during the previous Preview Weekend. If I play them now, I’ll just have to do it again in a week, and running starting areas a third time seems like a good way to make the game less fun for me.

    So instead I’m going to pick some classes that sound really neat but that I’m not likely to play when the game goes live and play those throughout the beta. Like the Dwarven Ironbreaker i just don’t get dwarves, but the class mechanic seems neat. Maybe even the White Lion, which has been the target of nearly unlimited scorn and derision from me, despite the fact that the basic idea (melee with pe) appeals to me.


  7. I will probably go back to an out-the-way area I found. It has a cave blocked by a door and a Zelda-esque puzzle thing infront of it. Nothing could be done with it during PW so I’m gonna see if it’s open/active now.

    Otherwise, just play new classes, test stuff out, and explore off the path places!


  8. I’m not sure what I’ll do yet. Maybe make an Archmage and fiddle with that a bit. While I’m happy for the ability to play this weekend, it’s all going to get erased, so meh. I’m really excited and waiting for the Headstart… I already know my classes/names/character looks so I’m set. πŸ™‚


  9. GOA have dropped the ball with the account page no matter how they try and spin it. How can not having the account page ready when OB starts in two days, be on schedule?

    If only Mythic was running the game in Europe 😦


  10. Plan on enjoying the pw+ Try a bunch of classes to learn their tactics and playing style.


  11. I just want to try playing the game. I didn’t get into the closed beta. Also, I pre-ordered the game, but I didn’t realize that I needed to put in my code so early, so I didn’t get into the preview.

    I’m bummed that the second preview is only open to the folks in the first preview. I’ve entered my key now of course, but I don’t think that gets me into the second preview.


  12. I’m probably gonna be re-leveling a Bright Wizard to find out the quickest way to do it – call me crazy – but I’ve never hit the cap in a game.
    Other than that, I’ll be messing around on other guys to figure out which I’d like to level as an alt.


  13. I will be exploring the Empire zones, not as the class I want to play-Shadow Warrior-but someone else, maybe WH. I just want to get a feel for the zones and the gameplay before the headstart begins.



Leave a Reply

