h1

First Impressions – Bright Wizard

August 24, 2008

Apparently, Bright Wizard Fignewton has anger management issues. I hit “random” for her character creation looks, and it gave me a wild-eyed, spikey-haired redhead. That was my first sign she was off her rocker.

The second was that one of her two initial skills, Ignite (fire DOT) came complete with one of the most annoying yells known to mankind. It’s like someone, a room over, got their foot stepped on by an elephant, and you would become concerned over that. Now, fast forward through about 40 rounds of combat where you’re Igniting – and screaming – constantly, and you just wish the elephant would sit on that voice to give you some peace and quiet. Seriously, it’s a horrible noise to be using for one of this class’ most common spells.

Other than that, I found the beginning Bright Wizard to be your typical fire mage, although with prettier-than-normal graphics. No fire mage is complete without a fireball, or variations thereof, and lo and behold, I got a level 1 Fireball skill. I got my pyro on and toasted a number of baddies, skeedaddling right to the PQ to see if we could complete it and I could get some yummy loot.

Our slowly forming open group stalled out in stage two twice due to lack of numbers, but by the third go-around, we had enough players to withstand a barrage of attacks for the full five minutes. The big giant afterwards went down supereasy compared to that. Unfortunately, I rolled a… 12. And the whole “rolling” mechanic is very under the hood and low key, which isn’t what I was brought to expect from all the PQ interviews Mythic’s been doing. (Edit: later on I discovered that if you click on the box that says “Starting the Loot Roll” it does open up the window with all the numbers.)

I didn’t have it in me to stick it out another round with Fignewton. I’m sorry, babe, but fire mages just don’t do it for me.

I did figure out a bit more about the killing spree feature. As far as I can tell, it goes like this: you kill a guy fast enough to activate Killing Spree stage 1, which gives you the 5% XP modifier (posted conveniently on your portrait window), as well as an orange circle timer that rings your portrait and counts down to nothing fast. If you can’t kill by the time the timer expires, you lose the killing spree bonus. If you do, the timer resets, and you go on to stage 2 and so on, gaining another 5% XP modifier for each stage. Cool beans!

5 comments

  1. Just to mention – the killing spree is in four stages, 5%, 10%, 15% and 20%, with each stage, the timer has shorter times, keeping up a 20% killing spree is pretty hard alone (since you’ll need to kill really fast), when you are in a group, at the ohter hand, you can easily keep the killing spree on the last stage all the time (since every kill the group does is counted into the spree), which gives you a great exp bonus, compared to playing alone.


  2. Thanks for the info. Saves me from trying this class for now. Not a big fan of casters as it is. Having way too much fun with my Disciple of Khaine. I’ll be posting my experiences with him, though having way too much fun atm.

    Battle Standard


  3. They toned down the yelling a LOT in a later build. Man, that could get annoying.

    I have had enormous fun with my bright wizard in beta. They really fixed them with the combustion changes.

    Warrior Priest FTW though.


  4. I couldn’t help but chuckle at the mention of the Bright Wizard’s scream. Maybe it’s just me but I really don’t see it annoying at all. Perhaps it’s all the Anime that I watch. After hearing a loud scream before most attacks in Anime, you tend to fit right in with the Bright Wizard. ^_^


  5. I haven’t played a BW, but the shaman has an AWESOME scream when he casts Bunch ‘o Waaagh, a channeled dps spell. Goblins are awesome.



Leave a Reply

