h1

A Toast

August 15, 2008

It just hit me that, as of August, I’ve been blogging Warhammer Online for six months now, a number which escapes my reality. Six months? Really? How is it even possible I’ve had enough to talk about for that span of time without the game to actually play?

(And hey, if you want a good laugh, take a trip back to March, as I made some very enthusiastic predictions!)

It’s weird to step back and recognize just how much the online WAR community has changed since then. We’ve seen a lot more blogs and sites come on the scene, of course, with about a dozen wikis and hundreds of new guilds to boot. The official Warhammer Online site got a major upgrade, Warhammer Alliance expanded tremendously, we weathered another delay and feature cuts, and Snafzg made, I think, one new comic. Hey, it was a busy year for him!

Therefore, it makes me a bit misty-eyed to consider that two of the biggest supporters of WAR back when I started blogging are currently not with us any longer. I used to vastly enjoy Ted’s Warhamma podcast, and I’d like to think that our own ChaosCast was inspired by the foundation that he laid. When Ted took off for an unspecified hiatus, I found it difficult to remove his link from my blogroll.

You might also have heard about Rory’s Secret Life of Mobs webcomic, undoubtedly the best WAR comic made to date, suffering a particularly nasty hack a little while back. We don’t know the full details, but as he rebuilds the site “from scratch”, I can only think of every week for the past half year that I checked in with him to see if there was a new lavishly-detailed comic up yet (and often, there was).

So as we move to release, let us raise our goblets, mugs and coffee cups to the fallen, in tribute of the hard work they put in to keep the WAR effort alive. Cheers! Salut! Kanpai!

6 comments

  1. Cheers! *raises his coffee cup*

    or to be more “german”: Prost! ๐Ÿ˜‰


  2. At this time in the morning, raising a coffee is the best I can do.

    Truly, I think the community has really shown that is is going to be plenty healthy, come launch. I’m awed every day at how many people come to forums, post about the game, and blog out their latest thoughts. It’s going to be exciting!


  3. Cheers โค


  4. I’ve only been reading this blog for a few weeks now but it has been one of the best I’ve ever read. Which might not be saying too much since this is basically the first blog I’ve read since Xanga in high school.

    But for realz. This is one of the best.


  5. Cheers! This is the first blog I go to each day. Many thanks for the past 6 months, here’s to many more!


  6. Hi, and gratz. I like your podcasts ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I posted the question to Ted recently about him starting his podcasts again. A definate maybe is hopefull ๐Ÿ™‚

    http://www.warhamma.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=385&p=1712&hilit=ijam#p1712



Leave a comment