h1

Brotik Did It (points fingers)

July 28, 2008

Pre-NDA drop, pre-launch, it’s just to irresistible to avoid every rumor on the market, now isn’t it? Brotik brought my attention to a possible (probable) forgery of a timeline between now and release — according to an unnamed “inside source” — but it’s just plausible enough to invoke pleasurable speculation. And I’ve been gone a week, darn it! I deserve to fling caution to the wind and have it come back and slap me silly!

So here’s the post I read:

Guild Beta Starting July 7th (was close… a few days off)

Guild Beta Ends July 27th

Open Beta Patcher opens July 30th
Open Beta Servers open August 1st at noon

When Open beta launches, they start printing the hardcopies – anything not in the game when it hits open beta will be patched in.

Open Beta goes until August 18th

Beta Officially Ends, Servers are wiped clean, final polishes server side are done, initial patches are put into place.

September 8th, head start begins, first shipment of games goes out

September 22nd, Official Launch Date

Now when I say this is “probably not” what’s going to happen, I’m saying that there’s safe enough odds on this being fudged all the way through as to being a delectable death trap for diabetics. While I’m sure some of the higher ups in Mythic have a timetable and set dates, they’re not dumb, and they’re not going to release 100% of that info to the entire staff and hope against hope that there won’t be a silly leak… like the one we supposedly read and believed here.

Yet it’s worthy of examination, because if the much-repeated September 23rd launch date is in fact true, a LOT needs to happen between now and then — so much that the two months-minus span of time between now and then will seem like a whirlwind.

What’s on the list? Well, guild beta has to end at some point, or at least the current phase it’s in. The NDA drop will happen in advance of the Open Beta, most likely, and the OB will need to start far enough in advance to launch as to be useful to Mythic. Then there’s the head start program, WAR going gold and producing the physical copies to ship, and then launch.

If you look at the rumored timeline above, all of that fits (if it just squeaks in) by the time September 23 hits. Yet this week is very telling in whether there’s any veracity to this “leak” or not — if the NDA doesn’t drop and Open Beta doesn’t hit by this weekend, we’ll know that we can disgard this info safely. And I have a suspicion that the NDA will drop at least two weeks before OB, but who knows?

As I said, mindless speculation is a lark, and it makes room in your noggin for cupcakes.

17 comments

  1. I think you are trying to get out all the pent up blogging from your vacation… but anyways

    I doubt there is much truth to that piece. That is a 2-week long head start and that alone makes it unworthy of being a workable time-line.

    I thought it was funny enough to warrant a posting but not enough to give it a benefit of the doubt.

    Besides, I have this feeling there will be a patch in for the guild beta people and they move straight into the Open Beta with no pause…give us a week or 2 to open beta it the a pause…then the head start right before launch…say 5 days?


  2. Why do you torment us Syp? 🙂


  3. Lord of the Rings had a 2 week head start. Entirely possible.


  4. while i think it would be wonderful for that to happen, i don’t believe it to be true. i believe the NDA will drop within the next week but not by the 1st. Also the head start seems like it will be shorter. i hope it’s that long but i think it will be shorter. a better time line in my eyes would be:

    Guild Beta Starting July 7th (was close… a few days off)

    NDA Drops August 1st

    Guild Beta Ends August 4th

    Open Beta Patcher opens August 4th
    Open Beta Servers open August 5th at noon

    When Open beta launches, they start printing the hardcopies – anything not in the game when it hits open beta will be patched in.

    Open Beta goes until September 20th

    Beta Officially Ends, Servers are wiped clean, final polishes server side are done, initial patches are put into place.

    September 23th, head start begins, first shipment of games goes out

    September 26nd, Official Launch Date

    my hope/dream :/


  5. NDA comes down tomorrow, OB begins in two weeks. Thank you and goodnight!


  6. If all that was true, that would be amazing. Maybe we should look at the Open Beta cycles for other games, in accordance to release, to get a better idea? Although I doubt any game has been in the beta stages as long as WAR has.


  7. I wouldn’t count on anything like a september release actualy, I remember Mythic talking about dropping the NDA 8 weeks + in advance of lauch as it would show their “faith” in WAR, so that makes you think about how they feel about WAR if they drop the NDA 6 weeks pre-lauch instead of 8+ =).
    Just a thought tho.


  8. I don’t buy into that timeline much. I think the chances of Open Beta starting in July are nil. Also the head start will likely only be a few days, not weeks.


  9. Brotik beat me to it, but I agree that this schedule has far too long a head start period, and far too long a down time between close of open beta and start of head start. But we’ll see!


  10. Maybe I’m wrong but I thought the devs repeatedly said that there was going to be NO open beta. If this is correct, the game should be ready to launch by late September.


  11. I think you might be confused about the no open beta comments. What Mythic is calling their open beta is not in fact open – as in not at all like the 1-2 week wide open public stress test that Blizzard did for WoW. WAR open beta is actually closed.


  12. “Maybe I’m wrong but I thought the devs repeatedly said that there was going to be NO open beta. If this is correct, the game should be ready to launch by late September.”

    They’ve said their open beta won’t be “open” like a lot of people think about it — a stress test that anyone can join in on. It’ll be controlled by invites, just not confidential with an NDA and such.

    As for the timeline, I wish it were true, especially with a two week headstart, but I don’t think it is. I guess we’ll know in 2-3 days though.


  13. I hope this isnt the time line because no matter how much I beg bestbuy.com will not be sending out ANY codes until august 17th


  14. Personally I’m going to keep banking on my Amazon ship date. I know people have trouble with Amazon, but hey I already have the codes so I wont miss open beta.

    I’m going to throw a bet out here. $i that Open Beta opens September 15th. Headstart towards the start of October.

    (and yes I am aware I am betting an imaginary number)


  15. I’ll join the chorus and say that a two-week head start for an RvR game would be dumb and pointless.


  16. Head start is 3 days, so yeah….


  17. I agree, there’s no way Head Start will be two weeks. Probably more like three days before launch.



Leave a Reply

