h1

A Leaky Ship

July 1, 2008

I’ve been asked, off and on, whether I’m a partaker in the delicacy of beta leaks. As most of us know, Warhammer Online is currently under an NDA, which prohibits current players from talking about their experiences or any info whatsoever that hasn’t been released publicly. Once the NDA drops, all is fair game — but until then, certain sites seem to thrive on getting beta testers to renege on their word and spill all the dirty little secrets.

It’s tempting, knowing it’s out there, isn’t it? Yet WAR site after WAR site, blog after blog, forum after forum has very little patience or tolerance for people leaking NDA-covered details or promoting said sites (and no, I’m not going to say what they are, they don’t need any press from me). It’s not just to avoid incurring the wrath and displeasure of the devs, although that’s part of it, or to risk having some of their own beta keys taken away. It’s because some people on the internet still maintain a code of honor, and when a company puts in place a closed beta test to help them make a game without hundreds of doomsayers flying off the handle every day on public forums and impacting the devs’ ability to make changes, some people respect that.

I think it’s as simple as that. Respect. If you respect Mythic and what they’re trying to do, then resist the temptation to peek behind the curtain, because that encourages others to be very disrespectful and leak all sorts of stuff that may or may not be the same come a week or month from now. I know we live in an age where loads of information is but a keystroke away, where we want everything immediately and hate to wait… but consider the benefits of waiting. Of having patience and respect. Of — and this isn’t a Klingon thing — honor.

I’ll close by going a bit biblical with a great verse I’ve always liked — 1 Corinthians 10:23. It basically says, “Everything is permissible… but not everything is beneficial or constructive.” In other words, you have the freedom to do what you like, but that freedom doesn’t mean that everything you choose to do is for the best. How are beta leaks beneficial or constructive, other than slaking our impatience?

The NDA will drop. Questions will be answered. And you won’t be “behind” when you find out, so don’t fret about it. There’s plenty of non-NDA WAR info coming out every day to go through.

12 comments

  1. So true, so true.


  2. if i were lucky enough too have beta access I probably wont tell anyone. im too much of a greedy bastard to share πŸ™‚


  3. There will always be people that join betas simply to get a head start on what to do, where to do it, and how to do it faster than others. But then again… you need all sorts of people for betas to get rounded feed-back. Now we just need to convince Mythic that they need 20ish, slightly demented time traveling hooligans to help them make the greatest game since spray cheese.


  4. People love drama and spoiled children can’t wait for their presents so they lie, cheat, and steal to get attention.


  5. “There’s plenty of non-NDA WAR info coming out every day to go through.”
    If that was true then the plumbing wouldn’t be leaky.

    I’ll admit I’ve looked at some of the places where the beta is leaked, and the most popular information is videos of the game being played. It would be a really good idea if Mythic released some official gameplay videos of the current build being shown at the gamesdays. People are going to share their experiences with the game at these public events, so why not give a official list of the systems in place? They could even release the info a month or two after the shows to preserve the incentive to attend.


  6. Also, any leaks now are liable to change somewhat before I get to it, so I don’t want to get excited about something (or panic about something) that doesn’t make it into the version of the game I play.

    That being said, word gets around sometimes πŸ™‚


  7. WAR, pipes and a bible verse… impressive πŸ˜‰


  8. I’m not usually the type of person to comment seriously on blog posts, but this one struck me. It’s not about what you’re saying, but about the use of biblical passages to convey your point.

    It’s incredibly dangerous to start quoting the bible in any sort of publication unless that publication is specifically religious in nature. People get offended really easily whenever religion is brought up.

    However, Syp, you’ve stated numerous times that you’re a man of the cloth, which somewhat gives you the right to spew all the religion you want and be safeguarded behind “but it’s my job.” Not to mention, this is just a blog, not an official news website and you can do whatever you want with it because it’s yours.

    Now, after all that I have one last thing to say. Your use of biblical referencing was done very well. In no way did it feel preachy and in no way did I feel like any sort of thought was being pushed upon me and that I’d go straight to hell if I didn’t believe it. So, either you’re an uber-sneaky super-priest or just a decent human being with above-average writing skills. Personally, I like both options.

    Thanks for doing what you do, Syp.


  9. Well said Syp. I have a hard time keeping up with the WAR bloggers out there. Trying to get a post out every to every-other day is a daunting task at best. Then there are those days when you just can’t seem to stop finding stuff to talk about. We will have WAR and we will have it soon enough.


  10. Well, it’s not “my job” so much as it is “my life”. I don’t feel compelled to hide or change anything of who I am just because an audience is different — that said, I’m not obnoxious about it either. It just seemed like the verse was a good fit with the topic.


  11. Man, no one’s offering me cold hard cash to drop a dime on the WAR beta. Send ’em my way! Daddy needs a new pair of shoes πŸ™‚

    I’m KIDDING.

    I don’t have any problems keeping to an NDA for a sucky beta. It’s tougher when you’re enjoying yourself πŸ™‚


  12. It’s a weird person that leaks. I used to be in Guild Wars closed alpha test (mostly for Nightfall), and I remember that I felt absolutely no need to go to or comment on any of the speculation threads in the major forums. It’s weird how my community shifted…

    Over at one beta leak site, they have a way to thank the leaker, and that’s who I feel the leakers are: someone who wants to feel like they are doing something beneficial. So I disagree with your use of a religious quote because they are doing it for someone else’s benefit (and their own feeling of self worth).



Leave a Reply

