h1

Imperial Inquisition – Ted of Warhamma

May 6, 2008

The Imperial Inquisition is proud today to welcome to the rack one of the earliest and strongest voices of WAR fandom — Ted of the Warhamma podcast. While the podcast is on a temporary hiatus, Ted is still alive and kicking, as is his love for you.

WAAAGH!: Tell us a bit about yourself — your handle/screen name/real name, age, real life occupation, your previous MMO experience, and your play style.

TED: My name is Ted Childers although online I’ve gone by many names such as Tedero, Awesomizer and Freaky Big. I’m a 30something living in Houston, TX where I work as a Desktop Support Supervisor for a large manufacturing company. My first online gaming experience was back in my early college days circa 1993-1995 where I played (and coded) the MUDs Highlands and Dawn of the Immortals. After leaving the MUD scene I didn’t get back into online gaming (aside from FPS games like Tribes and Quake) until City of Heroes came out. I played CoH for a few months and then jumped over to World of Warcraft where I’ve spent most of my time playing an alliance rogue. I’ve also dabbled with Star Wars Galaxies, City of Villains, Guild Wars and Vanguard.

I guess my play style is hardcore casual if there is such a thing. I love being a part of an organized group with scheduled events but not to the point where I’m required to participate not matter what cards RL deals ya.

WAAAGH!: What type of social play do you gravitate towards: soloing, participating in small guilds/small groups, or participating in large guilds/large raids?

TED: I love the spectrum of all types of social play. I enjoy soloing just as much as hooking up with a small group of friends although I’m not much into PUGs. When it comes to large raids I’m down but only if the guild is all about friendship and having a great time. I’m a firm believer that you don’t have to align yourself with a-holes and sycophants just to enjoy large raids. I’ve been fortunate by having been a part of guilds that play well together yet still strive to reach the coveted endgame content.

WAAAGH!: What motivated you to get involved with the WAR community and how did you go about doing it?

TED: Jason, the webmaster of Warhamma.com, tricked me into it. He and I struck up a friendship back in our WoW days and even back then he knew I was interested in podcasting. He lured me over to check out his site to see what I thought about it. When I saw it was Warhammer I was like OMG, I love Warhammer! Although I never played the fantasy battle game I was HUGE into the spin off game, Blood Bowl! I even helped run the General Sam Conference Blood Bowl league back in college. So, as he and I gushed over the game he whispered into my ear the super secret Manchurian Candidate password that turned me into a podcasting super soldier. Well, super geek at least. I haven’t looked back since.

WAAAGH!: What are some of the more notable trends you’ve observed in the WAR community since you’ve been active in it?

TED: This is the first time I’ve ever been this hardcore into a game that hasn’t even come out yet. I’m just blown away by the buzz, hype and momentum the community generates for a game they’ve never played yet they (and myself!) are totally convinced that it’s going to be the best thing since pockets and the Internet. I’m also very impressed by the degree of contact the game developers have dedicated to the community. It’s the ultimate of instant gratification that a developer will take the time to talk to you as long as you’re polite and well spoken. Such a level of community involvement must be fairly unheard of for a first tier MMO like WAR.

WAAAGH!: Did you play Dark Age of Camelot (or do you still), and what did you like/hate about it?

TED: Unfortunately, I missed the DAoC boat. When I joined the mainstream MMO scene with my fiends to play City of Heroes, they had already put the finishing touches on their DAoC scrapbooks and looked back at the game with fond memories.

WAAAGH!: What PvP experience do you have, and what are your general feelings on it?

TED: My only MMO PvP experience has been playing on a WoW PvP server and participating in battlegrounds. Being part of a PvP server was frustrating at times for sure but all in all I actually kinda dug the constant fear of danger. However, when it comes to WoW battlegrounds I found the experience to be rather dull. Sure, I enjoyed fighting against other players but the battleground maps just felt like meaningless FPS map instead of being a part the perpetual world. That’s why I’m so stoked about scenarios and sieges in WAR. It’s PvP where the outcome MEANS something! In WAR, PvP has a purpose and a goal which is something no other MMO can claim as far as I know.

WAAAGH!: What faction (order/chaos) do you plan siding with when the game releases, and why?

TED: I played the “good guys” in WoW so this time around in WAR I want to focus on the armies of destruction.

WAAAGH!: What class(es) currently appeal to you the most, and are they similar or different to classes you typically play in other MMOs?

TED: Since I’ve played a melee dps class in WoW I’m looking for a change of pace. Thus, my career choices right now are leaning towards the tank careers (Black Orc, Chosen and Black Guard) and the ranged DPS careers (Squig Herder, Magus and Sorceress). The support careers are intriguing but I’m not sure I can go from a player who focused solely on dps to one who has to really keep their eye on everyone (allies and enemies). If I had to narrow down to my top three careers they would be Magus, Sorceress and Chosen…

WAAAGH!: What features of WAR have you the most excited to experience?

TED: City capture! The Tomb of Knowledge! Public Quests! Scenarios! Keep sieges! Lairs! It’s probably easier to ask what I’m the least excited to experience… hmm, then again maybe that’s hard to answer as well!

WAAAGH!: Did you apply for the beta, did you get into the beta, and have you pre-ordered the CE?

TED: As soon as Jason told me about the game I applied to the beta. I’m ashamed to say that even exploited several podcasts in my quest to get into the beta. Unfortunately, EA/Mythic doesn’t answer well to slightly humorous veiled empty threats… still no beta lovin’ for me. As for the CE, I’m afraid I’ve been a bit obsessive. I’ve ordered a copy from Gamestop, Amazon and I plan to pick up a box from Best Buy. The way I see it, they’ll make great gifts for holidays and bar mitzvahs!

WAAAGH!: What concerns do you have for WAR’s gameplay and future?

TED: The only aspect of WAR that has me a little worried is their decision to limit the toolbar UI. Sure, you can have several saved loadouts that you can switch out between battles but I’m so used to having access to all my character’s abilities at once. I’m trying not to let it bother me since I have yet to even see it in action. It will certainly add another layer of strategy to the game that’s for sure. I just hope it’s seen as a fun challenge and not a frustrating turn off. As for the game’s future, I firmly believe that WAR will be a stellar game that may not be the WoW killer but it will certainly make a mark on the MMOscape. With the EA marketing juggernaut backing them up, WAR is poised to leave a huge impression on many current and future MMO players.

WAAAGH!: What will you be doing with your gaming time between now and WAR’s release?

TED: I just bought a big honkin’ tv so I’ll probably embrace the console scene for a while, at least until WAR gets here. The PC is still my platform of choice but with the greatest MMO on the horizon I’d rather talk about WAR then mess around with the competition.

4 comments

  1. Ted! Get back to podcasting! 🙂


  2. […] Find out why Ted came to Warhammer! Posted in Community News, Fansite News, General News, Warhammer News | on May 6th, 2008 by Svoald […]


  3. […] podcast superstar, Ted, was just interviewed by Waaagh! Head on over to peer deeply into his dark and twisted mind… Bookmark to: Hide […]


  4. […] Find the interview @ Waaagh! ] 6th May , […]



Leave a Reply

