h1

Imperial Inquisition – Ashton of Chaos War Host

April 15, 2008

Continuing with our interview series and slow, exquisite torture of WAR community leaders, today we’re glad to introduce the tattered remnants of Ashton, who runs Chaos War Host!

WAAAGH!: Tell us a bit about yourself — your handle/screen name/real name, age, real life occupation, your previous MMO experience, and your play style.

ASHTON: My name is Ashton VanDemark, I have been going by Ahamix in MMOs for about 7 or 8 years now. A/S/L you ask? Well I’m 21 and I am a Junior majoring in Mechanical Engineering at THE Ohio State University. I think the list of MMOs I haven’t played would be shorter than a list of MMOs I have played. The ones I’ve played seriously are Everquest, Everquest II, Vanguard, and… well I played WoW to the point of being on the best guild on the server and such, but I hardly call that serious compared to other games (I’m a hater). My play style is more like a life style. Of the games I listed I have invested hundreds of days played time, I used to joke around with the line “I beat Everquest”.

WAAAGH!: What type of social play do you gravitate towards: soloing, participating in small guilds/small groups, or participating in large guilds/large raids?

ASHTON: I’m a group oriented person, I generally don’t play MMOs to solo and I just don’t enjoy it for more than an hour. I really like raiding but it’s not my ultimate goal to be max level and be the best, I just have fun, play too much, and things fall into place for me. Some of my best MMO memories are of very difficult raid content and I hope to make some more memories in the future. Also I’m not really big into the social atmosphere, I don’t log on just because I’m worried the guys I’ve been running static groups with for the last month we be mad. If I’m sitting on a game and realize I’d rather be doing something else, I leave.

WAAAGH!: What motivated you to get involved with the WAR community and how did you go about doing it?

ASHTON: I’ve been into Warhammer 40k before I ever started playing MMOs (also played a bit of fantasy with friends who had armies). I’ve never been very serious about it, played in a couple of local tournaments had an army or two at any given time type of thing. I’ve been following WAR for a good amount of time, needed a hobby, and loved Chaos, so Chaos WAR Host was born.

WAAAGH!: What are some of the more notable trends you’ve observed in the WAR community since you’ve been active in it?

ASHTON: Right now most people have never even played the game and the community is living off of new info. There have been a few random months when we see nothing but a few screenshots and a newsletter and the discussion gets really thin. I haven’t noticed any definite trends but I’m impressed with the resilience of this pre-launch community. You don’t see people leaving in droves every time there is a negative review or a delay.

WAAAGH!: Did you play Dark Age of Camelot (or do you still), and what did you like/hate about it?

ASHTON: I did play Dark Age of Camelot but not long enough to make any sort of comment on the systems that are going to make it in Warhammer.

WAAAGH!: What PvP experience do you have, and what are your general feelings on it?

ASHTON: I am not a huge PvP person but I’m excited to see Warhammer’s take on it. PvP in many MMOs is secondary to the main game. For me it has always been something I did when I was bored or my buddies weren’t online yet. The type of PvP I’m most excited for is open world, I really hope Warhammer pulls it off!

WAAAGH!: What faction (order/chaos) do you plan siding with when the game releases, and why?

ASHTON: I’ll be going destruction. I recognize that Order isn’t exactly “teddy bear hug land” but it is still too bright and shiny for me. I have never played an MMO and rolled any sort of class or race that could be associated with niceness. If there is a race that starts with terrible faction for every city except my own I’ll roll that race. If it lets me you might even find me grinding Destruction city faction just to have an excuse to lower it again by busting up my own guards (you know, just to let them know who’s who around here).

WAAAGH!: What class(es) currently appeal to you the most, and are they similar or different to classes you typically play in other MMOs?

ASHTON: I am tank! I’ll roll the destruction tank that has the best defensive roll in PvE combat. I have always played a tank class and it’s what I love. Although I know Warhammer is promising otherwise, it doesn’t bother me in the least if I can’t solo, can’t dps, and can’t PvP.

WAAAGH!: What features of WAR have you the most excited to experience?

ASHTON: I am really looking forward to the open world PvP and the PvE. PvE fans aren’t something I see a lot of in the Warhammer community but hopefully we can all meet somewhere in the land of RvR.

WAAAGH!: Did you apply for the beta, did you get into the beta, and have you pre-ordered the CE?

ASHTON: Yes! No. Yes! I assume you were hoping for a longer answer here so I typed this sentence because you probably won’t read it before you post it because there are like 10 people you sent these questions to. Was I right? I sure hope so!

WAAAGH!: What concerns do you have for WAR’s gameplay and future?

ASHTON: After the initial launch day/week/month fever wears off not everyone is going to be happy. The real bulk of the players aren’t on any forums or active in the community right now and what they think of the game will ultimately determine the path that Warhammer goes. I really hope there is some sort of population balance to the servers too. It would not be fun winning everyday without challenge or losing everyday without a chance, I really hope there is a very even match up.

WAAAGH!: What will you be doing with your gaming time between now and WAR’s release?

ASHTON: Making sure everyone has the latest Warhammer news at Chaos WAR Host! Other than that I’ve been putting some time into the Xbox360 my brother gave me for Christmas (“Ahamix OSU” if you are feeling brave). I’m also a huge fan of the RTS genre and I’ve been playing a lot of Company of Heroes.

Leave a Reply

